



CANADA ARTISTIC SWIMMING ANNUAL MEETING Meeting Minutes

Date: September 16, 2023

Time (From - To): 14:00 to 15:23 EST

Location: Zoom Meeting

Chairperson: Florence Klein, President, Canada Artistic Swimming

Voting Members:

Rebecca Gladney, President, Newfoundland and Labrador Artistic Swimming

Wanda Ellsworth. PEI Artistic Swimming

Paul Jewer, President, Nova Scotia Artistic Swimming

Nathalie Cyr, President, New Brunswick Artistic Swimming (joined after roll call)

Elena Thibault-Arsenault, Président, Natation Artistique Québec

Pat McCann, President, Ontario Artistic Swimming

Carol Chernishenko, Board Member, Saskatchewan Artistic Swimming

Chris Profiri, President, Alberta Artistic Swimming

Mandy Curtis, President, British Columbia Artistic Swimming

Board Members, Staff, and Representatives of Members (Observers):

Lindsay Duncan, Board of Directors Vice President, Canada Artistic Swimming
Jason Herbert, Board of Directors Member, Canada Artistic Swimming
Sara Hart, Board of Directors Member, Canada Artistic Swimming
Jessica Rutledge, Board of Directors Member, Canada Artistic Swimming
Dawn Wilson, Board of Directors Members, Canada Artistic Swimming
Catherine Barrett, Athletes Council Chair, Canada Artistic Swimming
Steve Wallace, Chief Executive Officer, Canada Artistic Swimming
June Sterling, Finance & Administration Manager, Canada Artistic Swimming
Stephane Cote, Chief Officer Business Development, Canada Artistic Swimming
Megan Pereira, Executive Administration, Canada Artistic Swimming
Claire Calsina, Manager Events & administration, Canada Artistic Swimming

Lenore Lindquist, Executive Director Saskatchewan Artistic Swimming Melissa Wolk, OAS Executive Director Valérie Savard, Executive Director Natation Artistique Québec Pam Bursey, Executive Director, New Brunswick Artistic Swimming Greg McIlwain - Board candidate

Invited Guests:

Paul Fritz-Nemeth, Chair of Finance Committee Wendy Yule, CUASL Liaison (Canadian University League) Melanie Beaudoin, Nominating Committee Suzanne Kostron, National Officials Committee Chair Recording Secretary: Megan Pereira, Administrative Coordinator, Canada Artistic Swimming

Item No.	Topic and actions taken
1.	Call to Order
	Florence Klein called the meeting to order at 14:00 EST.
	Confirmation of Delegates
	British Columbia 1 vote Alberta 1 vote Saskatchewan 1 vote Manitoba 1 vote Ontario 1 vote Quebec 1 vote
	New Brunswick 1 vote (joined after roll call) Nova Scotia 1 vote Newfoundland/Labrador 1 vote Total 9 votes
	CAS CEO S. Wallace confirmed that Quorum is reached and majority needed in a vote is 5
2.	Following the roll call, F. Klein took the role of chair.
	As Board members have a voice in this meeting but no vote, F. Klein entertained a motion to allow Canada Artistic Swimming staff, representative of Members and Canada Artistic Swimming legal counsel to be granted a voice but not a vote in the proceedings of this meeting:
	MOTION: THAT CAS staff and representatives of Members and Canada Artistic Swimming legal counsel be granted a voice at this meeting
	Moved by: Elena Thibault Seconded by: Paul Jewer Carried unanimously
	Carried dilaminously
3.	Approval of Agenda
	MOTION: THAT the agenda be approved as presented
	Moved by: Elena Thibault
	Seconded by: Carol Chernishenko Carried unanimously

4. Approval of 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes - September 17, 2022

MOTION: THAT the minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting be approved as presented.

Moved by: Pat McCann

Seconded by: Elena Thibault-Arsenault

Carried unanimously

5. **President & CEO Report**

S. Wallace, CEO, Canada Artistic Swimming, addressed those in attendance. He acknowledged the hard work of the members of the artistic swimming community across the country, the important work in front of the organization, and gave words of encouragement and congratulations. The written report was included in the published Annual Report and as Management Discussion & Analysis.

There were no questions regarding the President & CEO Report.

6. Approval of Audited Financial Statement – year ending March 31, 2023

As a thorough review of the financial statements was conducted at the finance workshop prior to the Annual Meeting, P. Fritz-Nemeth, Finance Committee Chair asked if anyone had any final questions regarding the Audited Financial Statements. No questions were brought forth.

MOTION: THAT the March 31, 2023 audited Financial Statements be approved as presented

Moved by: Mandy Curtis

Seconded by: Rebecca Gladney

Carried unanimously

7. **Appointment of Auditors**

P. Fritz-Nemeth called for a motion to approve the appointment of KPMG as Auditors for 2023-2024, 2024-2025, 2025-2026

MOTION: THAT the auditing firm of KPMG be retained for the fiscal year 2023-2024, 2024-2025, 2025-2026

Moved by: Mandy Curtis Seconded by: Chris Profiri

Carried unanimously

8. Receiving of Standing Committee Reports

The Committees are:

Nominating Committee chaired by J. Rutledge

HR Committee chaired by E. Truscott

Governance Committee chaired by S. Hart

Finance Committee, chaired by P. Fritz-Nemeth

No questions for the reports. **MOTION:** THAT the reports of the Standing Committees be received Moved by: Paul Jewer Seconded by: Elena Thibault Carried unanimously F. Klein recognized the following Committee or Working Group Chairs for their work and leadership this past year: • Lisa Schott - External Relations Committee Suzanne Kostron - National Officials Committee Karen Land - Rules/Technical Committee • Catherine Barrett - Athlete Council Lindsay Duncan - Rise Up Management Committee 9. Strategic Plan Presentation S. Wallace, CEO, provided a progress report and the summary plan elements of the 2024-2028 CAS strategic plan currently in development. The strategic plan will be presented and reviewed with members at provincial meetings before publication in late fall 2023. 10. Receiving of Provincial Presidents' Reports **MOTION:** THAT the Provincial/Territorial reports be received as circulated Moved by: Carol Chernishenko Seconded by: Elena Thibault Carried unanimously 11. July 4th Extraordinary meeting resolution MOTION: THAT CAS's articles are amended under section 197(1)(i) of the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act to increase the maximum number of directors to 9. Moved by: Elena Thibault Seconded by: Rebecca Gladney Carried unanimously 12. **Election of Board of Directors** J. Rutledge, Chair of the Nominating Committee, reviewed the election process and advised the assembly that there are three (3) board positions available and three (3) persons seeking election to the board as follows alphabetically. The Scrutineers were introduced: (a) the scrutineer for the Nominating Committee is Melanie Beaudoin

(b) the scrutineer for the CEO and Head Scrutineer is June Sterling

(c) the scrutineer for the voting delegates is Megan Pereira

The election was conducted by the voting members.

Congratulations to all members who were elected on the Board of Directors for 2023 in alphabetic order:

Jason Herbert

Greg McIlwain

Dawn Wilson

MOTION: THAT the 2023 electronic election ballots be destroyed

Moved by: Chris Profiri Seconded by: Mandy Curtis

Carried unanimously

13. Other Business

No other business was put forward.

The date of the 2023 AM will be September 14, 2024 at a TBD location.

14. **Adjournment**

MOTION: THAT the meeting be adjourned at 15: 19 EST.

Moved by: Elena Thibault Seconded by: Pat McCann

Carried unanimously