The Canadian Senior National Artistic Swimming Team  looks to continue its strong season as it prepares for the third major competition of the year at the Ying Tung Natatorium in Beijing, China.

The Canadians began their competitive season at the second stop on the FINA Artistic Swimming World Series 2019 in Alexandroupoli, Greece. The Canadian squad earned 7 medals at the April event at the AXD Aquatic Center.

Most recently, at the 4th FINA World Series event in Tokyo, Japan, the Canadian team had another strong competition winning four more medals. The 8-member team won silver in the Team Techncial and a bronze in the Team Free routine. The 10-member Team Highlight squad added to its season’s medal haul with a bronze.

Jacqueline Simoneau continued her impressive competitive season with a bronze in the Solo Free, and just missed the medals with a fourth-place in the Solo Technical.

In addition to the medals, the Canadian team had a number of strong performances. Halle Pratt finished 6th in the Solo Technical, 5th in the Solo Free and teamed with Andrée-Anne Côté to finish 9th in the Duet Technical. Simoneau and Claudia Holzner placed 5th in the Duet Technical and 6th in the Duet Free.

Coaches travelling with team are Head Coach Gábor Szauder and Assistant Coach Kasia Kulesza, along with Sports Physiotherapist Katie Smith.  Coach Szauder sees this as one more stepping stone on the team’s pathway to the upcoming Pan American Games in Lima, Peru. “Each time we compete in front of international judges we gain valuable experience and feedback. We use each competition to improve our performances for the next event, in preparation for the Olympic qualification in Peru this summer.”

In the 5th event on the FINA Series in Beijing, May 4-6, Canada will compete in the Solo Technical, Solo Free, Duet Technical and Duet Free, and as a Team in the Technical, Free and Highlight events. Competitors from 10 different countries will participate in the event in China. Two Canadian judges are part of the judging panels for the event, Diane van der Pol and Lesley Ahara.