With the 2024 World Aquatics World Championships set to kick off in less than 7 weeks, Canada Artistic Swimming is proud to announce the 12-person team that will represent Canada in Doha, Qatar, on February 2-10, 2024.

Leading the way will be double Olympian Jacqueline Simoneau, who just returned to the senior national team this fall after a 2-year hiatus. Winner of over 70 medals on the World Aquatics circuit since 2013, Jacqueline will be competing for the first time under the new scoring rules in Doha. The athlete from Saint-Laurent, Que., will be taking part in the solo technical and free events, the duet technical and free events as well as one of the team routines.

While the duet composition remains to be confirmed, Jacqueline has been training with both Audrey Lamothe, from Montreal, QC and Olena Verbinska, from Aurora, ON, who formed the Canadian pairing last November at the Pan Am Games in Santiago. At stake will be a qualification for the 2024 Paris Olympic Games, where 18 countries will be represented.

The team event will also serve as the last-chance Olympic Qualifier, with 5 spots still available. While medals will be awarded for all team routine events at the World Championships, for the purpose of Olympic Qualifying, the results will be based on the aggregate scores of the 3 team routines (technical and free programs plus acrobatic routine) that will culminate with the team free event on February 9.

The athletes selected to represent Canada at the 2024 World Aquatics Championships are:

Sydney Carroll (Saskatoon, Sask.)
Scarlett Finn (Toronto, Ont.)
Laurianne Imbeau (Quebec City, Que.)
Audrey Lamothe (Montreal, Que.)
Jonnie Newman (Calgary, Alta.)
Raphaelle Plante (Quebec City, Que.)
Kenzie Pridell (Regina, Sask.)
Alicia Rehel (Mirabel, Que.)
Claire Scheffel (Brantford, Ont.)
Jacqueline Simoneau (St-Laurent, Que.)
Florence Tremblay (Rimouski, Que.)
Olena Verbinska (Aurora, Ont.)

The Doha World Championships will kick off on February 2, 2024, with the presentation of the Solo Technical preliminaries. The competition will be available to watch on web stream from the World Aquatics website.